Pitch Wars Post #3 – The Second Revision is Complete!

It’s hard not to get excited when you complete a revision and send it off to your mentor, but I’m excited. We’ll see what Holly thinks once she’s had a chance to give it a read. Fingers crossed!

So in the meantime, I’m going to start working on the pitch itself. We’re allowed 300 words between the pitch and however many words from the first page of our novel we can fit in (40-word pitch + the first 260 words of your novel, for example, and any other combination you can think of), so I’ll be working to tighten up that first page as much as possible, while allowing myself enough leftover words to create an effective pitch. This should be fun!

There also remains work to be done (probably) on the query and synopsis, and I continue to come up with a list of agents outside of PW to query once November 6 rolls around and the Agent Round has ended, so I am not finished yet, not by a long shot.

The pitch needs to be done and sent off to Holly by October 31st so she can submit it to Pitch Wars by November 1st.

*Cracks knuckles and pops neck*

Let’s do this.

P.S. – On a different note, NaNoWriMo is just around the corner. I’m toying with the idea of entering so I can work on my next novel idea while all of this agent round/querying stuff is going on. I’m told agents are always asking, “What else have you got?” so if I manage to get the attention of some agents in the coming weeks and months, I hope to have something else to tell them about. I’m either thinking ahead and being smart about this, or I’m certifiably insane, especially considering all the work I’ve put it into Pitch Wars-related things the past couple months, not to mention the amount of sleep I’ve lost. 🙂

Leave a Reply

