Out with the Old, In with the New!

As the final hour or so of 2014 ticks away, I am preparing not only for the start of a new year, but a new writing project. Earlier this week I completed the first draft of my current work in progress–a New Adult Lit Fic Drama called 10,000 Words–and I am now going to give that story a break for a couple weeks so that I can return to it with fresh eyes and a new perspective on the story itself when it comes time to edit, edit, edit!

So what am I doing in the meantime? Starting another novel, of course! Well, sort of.

Here’s the thing: I’ve had this idea kicking around in my mind since the summer of 2013, and apart from writing a 1,500-word overview of the story after having a very, very vivid dream about it, I haven’t done anything since. But this week I have begun asking some questions, filling in some details, trying to figure out the logistics of certain aspects of the story which will be more fantastical than others, and trying to see what the foundation for this story really is going to be. Is this really meant to be a novel? A short story? A novella? A really, really intriguing idea that  just doesn’t go anywhere? As with most writing, that’s the scary part–you have no idea until you give it a try. With my focus bound to be tied up in 10,000 Words for the first part of 2015, I don’t expect to do anything more than outline ideas, research subject matter and try to do some character studies for the next week or so, just to see if I can lay a solid framework for writing said novel when (if?!) that time comes. Either way, I am excited about the possibilities that the new story presents.

So for the next week or so, it’s out with the old (for now) and in with the new for me in a literary sense, and I can’t think of a better time for this switch to be taking place. Here’s to what lies ahead!

Leave a Reply

